National Assembly (1): The Senate. (plus comprehensive list of all its members and political parties)

The Senate arm of the National assembly (Red Chamber as it is informal referred) comprises of 109 members effecting 3 each from 36 states of the federation plus 1 member representing the Capital. This arrangement is strictly according to the constitution.

The Senate is only but one half of the Nation’s Bi-cameral structure of allowing two legislative houses to foster progress and development. The Federal House of Representative is the other half. Known as the ‘Red chamber’ for its Red chair settings in its hall, is the Upper House. The Senate alongside the Housed of Representatives (Green Chamber) are vested with the power to deliberate and legislate laws for the country.


Its members are so referred to as ‘Senators’. Each constituency is expected to elect 3 members each (FCT provides only One) under the electoral conduct of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) for four years. Elected members stand the chance of re-running at the end of each tenure.

There are Principal offices in the Senate with 4 being the major ones:

-The Senate President: Oversees and stand as the voice and head of the plenary

-Deputy Senate President: Stand in place when the Senate President is absent.

-Majority Leader: Head of the leading/dominant Political party in the House.

-Minority Leader: Head of the other political party present.

Also for ease of access, a clerk is so appointed from the civil service to help handle official documentations and record keeping for the House. Mohammed Sani-Omolori is the Substansive clerk of the assembly.

The 8th assembly is led by the able Senate President, Dist. Senator Bukola Saraki. Senator Ike Ekweremadu is the Deputy SP; Senator Ahmed Lawan is the majority Leader while Senator Godswill Akpabio is the Minority leader.

Below is comprehensive list of all representatives in the 8th assembly with their constituencies and political parties.

Senator                     Constituency     Party

Mao Ohuabunwa (Abia North) PDP

Theodore Orji (Abia Central) PDP

Enyinnaya Abaribe (Abia South) PDP

Bassey Albert (A/Ibom North East) PDP

Godswill Akpabio (Akwa/Ibom West) PDP

Nelson Effiong (A/Ibom South) PDP

Andy Uba (Anambra South) PDP

Stella Oduah (Anambra North) PDP

Uche Ekwunife (Anambra Central) PDP

Ben Murray-Bruce (Bayelsa East) PDP

Emanuel Paulker (Bayelsa Central) PDP

Ogola Foster (Bayelsa West) PDP

David Mark (Benue South) PDP

Rose Okoji Oko ( Cross River North) PDP

Gershom Bassey (C/River South) PDP

John Enoh (Cross River Central) PDP

Ovie Omo-Agege (Delta Central) PDP

Peter Nwaboshi (Delta North) PDP

James Manager (Delta South) PDP

Ogba Joseph (Ebonyi Central) PDP

Samuel Egwu (Ebonyi North) PDP

Sunday Oji (Ebonyi South) PDP

Clifford Ordia (Edo Central) PDP

Mathew Urhoghide (Edo South)

Francis Alimekhena (Edo North) APC

Duro Faseyi (Ekiti North) PDP

Fatimat Raji-rasaki (Ekiti Central) PDP

Biodun Olujimi (Ekiti South) PDP

Gilbert Nnaji (Enugu East) PDP

Ike Ekweremadu (Enugu West) PDP

Utazi Chukwuka (Enugu North) PDP

Philips Aduda (FCT) PDP

Joshua Lidani (Gombe South) APC

Samuel Anyanwu (Imo East) PDP

Uzodinma Goodhope (Imo West) PDP

Achonu Nneji (Imo North) PDP

Danjuma La’ah (Kaduna South) PDP

Mallam Shehu Sani , (Kaduna Central) APC

Uthman Hunkuyi (Kaduna North) APC

Philip Aruwa Gyunka (Nasarawa North) PDP

Buruji Kashamu (Ogun East) PDP

Prince Lanre Tejuosho (Ogun Central) APC

Gbolahan Dada (Ogun West) APC

Yele Omogunwa (Ondo South) APC

Jeremiah Useni (Plateau South) PDP

Joshua Dariye (Plateau Central) PDP

Jang Jonah (Plateau North) PDP

George Sekibo (Rivers East) PDP

Olaka Nwogu (Rivers S/East) PDP

Osinakachukwu Ideozu (Rivers West) PDP

Mohammed Hasan (Yobe South) PDP

Abubakar Sani Danladi (Taraba North) PDP

Yusuf Abubakar Yusuf (Taraba Central) PDP

Emmanuel Bwacha (Taraba South)

Binta Masi Garba (Adamawa North) APC

Ahmadu Abubakar (Adamawa South) APC

Abdul Aziz Murtala Nyako (Adamawa Central) APC

Isah Hamma Misau (Bauchi Central) APC

Ali Wakili (Bauchi South) APC

Suleiman Nazif (Bauchi North) APC

Barnabas Gemade (Benue East) APC

Akume George (Benue West) APC

Abubakar Kyari (Borno North) APC

Ahmad Zannah (Borno Central) APC

Ali Ndume (Borno South) APC (under suspension)

Francis Alimikhena (Edo North)

Bayero Nafada (Gombe North) APC

Goje Danjuma (Gombe Central) APC

Abubakar Gumel (Jigawa N/West) APC

Sabo Mohammed (Jigawa S/West) APC

Muhammad Shitu ( Jigawa N/East) APC

Suleiman Hunkuyi (Kaduna North) APC

Shehu Sani (Kaduna Central) APC

Barau Jibrin (Kano North) APC

Rabiu Kwankwaso (Kano Central) APC

Kabiru Gaya (Kano South) APC

Mustapha Bukar (Katsina North) APC

Abu Ibrahim (Katsina South) APC

Umaru Kurfi (Katsina Central) APC

Yahaya Abdullahi (Kebbi North) APC

Adamu Aliero (Kebbi Central) APC

Bala Ibn Na’Allah (Kebbi South) APC

Dino Melaye (Kogi West) APC

Abdulsalami Ohiare (Kogi Central) APC

Air Marshal Isaac Alfa (Kogi East) APC

Shaába Lafiagi (Kwara North) APC

Bukola Saraki (Kwara Central) APC

Rafiu Ibrahim (Kwara South) APC

Oluremi Tinubu (Lagos Central) APC

Olugbenga Ashafa (Lagos East) APC

Adeola Olamilekan (Lagos West) APC

Abdullahi Adamu ( Nasarawa West) APC

Suleman Asonya Adokwe(Nasarawa South) APC

Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi ( Niger North) APC

Mustapha Sani (Niger South) APC

David Umaru (Niger East) APC

Olanrewaju Tejuoso (Ogun Central) APC

Robert Ajayi Boroffice (Ondo North) APC

Tayo Alasoadura (Ondo Central) APC

Olusola Adeyeye (Osun Central) APC

Babajide Omoworare (Osun East) APC

Isiaka Adeleke (Osun West) APC

Monsurat Sunmonu (Oyo Central) APC

Buhari Abdulfatai (Oyo North) APC

Adesoji Akanbi (Oyo South) APC

Ibrahim Gobir (Sokoto East) APC

Aliyu Wamakko (Sokoto North) APC

Ibrahim Abdullahi (Sokoto South) APC

Bukar Baba Ibrahim (Yobe East) APC

Ahmad Lawan (Yobe North) APC

Kabir Garba Marafa (Zamfara Central) APC

Tijjani Yahaya Kaura (Zamfara North) APC

Ahmed Rufai Sani (Zamfara West) APC is the official website of the assembly.


pls., i will sincerely appreciated your views about the above excerpt in the comment box below.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s