Thursday, 5th of January, 2017, received all African football stars around the world in one hall as GLO and CAF celebrates the glory of African football. The 2016 GLO CAF awards is the silver jubilee edition of the annual celebration. The award rewards African talents and success around the world.

This year’s edition, hosted in Abuja by Richard Mofe Damijo (RMD) and Mimi Fawaz, was a fusion of energetic music performance from top African music Artistes. The likes of Yemi Alade, Omawumi, Diamond Platinum, Femi Kuti, Flavour, Muffinz, Sessime, and a host of others stormed the stage at different times with thrilling performances. The event was transmitted live on Supersport channels between 8:15 and 11:30 pm.

2016 GLO CAF awards featured 14 categories. The peak of the night has the keenly contested African Best Player award which had Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon and Borussia Dortmund (Germany), Riyadh Mahrez of Algeria and Leicester city (England) and Sadio Mane of Senegal and Liverpool (England). Riyadh Mahrez eventually claimed the category with a total 316points to become the new king of African football and Aubameyang claiming second place (313points).


Mahrez was instrumental to the successful league campaign of Leicester season last season and still giving his best for the uk based team both in the Champions league and the English Premier league this season. his impact in his Algerian National team cannot also be over emphasized.

Our Nigerian gamers were not missed out of action. The formidable Azeezat Oshoala of Arsenal ladies (England) won the female African Best Player. Alex Iwobi of Arsenal Fc (England) became the Young Best African Player while Kelechi Iheanacho of Manchester City (England) won the Most promising Talent category. The Super Falcons of Nigeria were also crowned the Woman National team of the Year award. President Muhammadu Buhari was also honoured with the Platinum award.

Below is the full list of winners.

African footballer of the year –Riyadh Mahrez (Algeria, Leicester city)

African Player of the year based in Africa –Denis Onyango (Uganda, Mamelodi Sundowns)

National team of the year –The Cranes of Uganda

Club of the Yeare –Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

Coach of The Year –Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa)

Most Promising Talent –Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria, Manchester City)

Women’s National team of the year –Super Falcons of Nigeria

Woman Player of the Year –Azeezat Oshoala (Nigeria, Arsenal Ladies)

Referee of the Year –Bakary Papa Gassama (Gambia)

Legend awards –Emilienne Mbango (Cameroun) and Laurent Pokou (Cote d’ivoire)

Platinum award – President Muhammadu Buhari (Nigeria)

Youth Player of the year –Alex Iwobi (Nigeria, Arsenal FC)

Africa finest XI

  1. Denis Onyango (Uganda, Mamelodi Sundowns)
  2. Serge Aurier (cote d’ivoire)
  3. Ayman Abdenour (Egypt)
  4. Eric Baily (Cote d’ivoire, Manchester United)
  5. Joyce Loma Lisa
  6. Rainford Kalaba
  7. Khama Bhiliat
  8. Keegan Dolly
  9. Sadio Mane (Senegal, Liverpool)
  10. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon, Borussia Dortmund)
  11. Riyadh Mahrez (Algeria, Leicester City)


  • Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria, Manchester City)
  • Alex Iwobi (Nigeria, Arsenal)
  • Mohammed Salah (Egypt, Roma)
  • Islam Slimani (Algeria, Leicester city)
  • Salif Coubaly (Mali, TP Mazembe)
  • Kalidou Koubaly (Senegal, Napoli)
  • Ayman Mathlouthi (Tunisia, Etouile de Sahel)

pls., i will sincerely appreciated your views about the above excerpt in the comment box below.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s